Cinque Terre

A truly memorable day in Cinque Terre today. Stunning 5 separate villages hanging precariously on rocky slopes above the Mediterranean.

P1000477
Manarola

Rode the bikes the 5km from our Aire stop in La Spezia to the train station. The train vists all 5, mostly via tunnels through the mountainous coastline.

They are extremely touristy but their inherent charm and stunning settings will win over even the most skeptical tourist trap avoider!

Walked up & down some very steep stepped pathways, meandered through narrow ‘streets’ and despite best efforts got drawn into some quaint shops. Not to mention somewhat strange cemeteries … well space is at a premium!

P1000451
Monterosso cemetery

Our lunch time view …

P1000461
Vernazza harbour

I had Tegame alla vernazzana in Vernazza. The main dish of the town, a layered, casserole-like dish of whole anchovies, potatoes, tomatoes, white wine, oil, and herbs.
I am planning on eating my way through local dishes on my Italian travels 🙂

It would be rude to leave Cinque Terre without having a beer with a view.

P1000479

 

Ignatius

 

6 thoughts on “Cinque Terre

  1. So amazing! I wish I had the chance to go while I was in Italy. I ended up checking out the Amalfi Coast instead. It was beautiful but I still have the undying urge to check out Cinque Terre.

    Like

Leave a Reply

